Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

The Nursery and Reception curriculum is delivered through a balance of child initiated and adult led activities. The new EYFS curriculum was introduced in September 2012 and has seven areas of learning.

The Prime Areas of learning are:

  • Communication and Language;
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development;
  • Physical Development.

The Specific Areas of learning are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the World;
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

Each area has specific goals called the Early Learning Goals which children are expected to achieve before they complete their time in the Early Years Foundation Stage.

At Cravenwood we use an important document called ‘Development Matters’ to guide us in teaching and learning in the EYFS. This guidance gives age-related statements from birth to 60 months which we can use to ensure that every child receives the correct level of activity. At the start of your child’s education in Foundation Stage, they will be assessed using this document and against the statements in it.

 The British Association for Early Childhood Education’s ‘Development Matters’ document is available here. 

©2020 Cravenwood Primary Academy
United Learning