Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

The Nursery and Reception curriculum is delivered through a balance of child initiated and adult led activities. The new EYFS curriculum was introduced in September 2012 and has seven areas of learning.

The Prime Areas of learning are:

  • Communication and Language;
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development;
  • Physical Development.

The Specific Areas of learning are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the World;
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

Each area has specific goals called the Early Learning Goals which children are expected to achieve before they complete their time in the Early Years Foundation Stage.

At Cravenwood we use an important document called ‘Development Matters’ to guide us in teaching and learning in the EYFS. This guidance gives age-related statements from birth to 60 months which we can use to ensure that every child receives the correct level of activity. At the start of your child’s education in Foundation Stage, they will be assessed using this document and against the statements in it.

 The British Association for Early Childhood Education’s ‘Development Matters’ document is available here. 

©2019 Cravenwood Primary Academy

Cravenwood Primary Academy is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB. Tel: 01832 864 444
Financial Accountability and Freedom of Information  | Terms, Cookies and Privacy

United Learning